Change of heart

Taget ur Change of heart skriven av Jodi Picoult:

" `Religion brings people together,´ I said. `Yeah, right. You can track every polarizing issue in this country to religion. Stem cell research, the war in Iraq, the right to die, gay marriage, abortion, evolution, even the death penalty - what's the fault line? The Bible of yours.´" (s.165)

Jag skulle vilja påstå att karraktären i boken (Shay) beskriver sina tankar om religion på ett sätt som passar rätt bra in på mina egna.  Och som det även står i boken så ser jag religioner som något som är skapat av och för personer som behöver något att tro på. Jag har väldigt svårt att tro på något som orsakat och orsakar en sån massa skit i världen.

"`And the ones who are really monsters, the ones they don't ever want walking around near their wives and children again - the ones like me - well, those they get do dispose of. Because it's easier than admitting there isn't much difference between them and me [...] If you really want to know what makes someone a killer,´ he said, `ask yourself what would make you do it.´" (s.166)

Lite tänkvärt, wouldn't you say? Boken handlar en del om, eller ja rätt mycket om, dödsstraff. Jag skulle vilja påstå att döma någon till dödsstraff och därefter ge dem en dödlig injektion (eller något av alla de andra avrättningssätt som finns där ute i världen), är lika mycket mord som något annat.

"Ask instead: would you do it? Would you give up your vengeance against someone you hate if it meant saving someone you love? Would you want your dreams to come true if it meant granting your enemy´s dying wish?" (s.194)

Skulle du det? Jag tror det är lätt att säga att man skulle det, men desto svårare att göra det.

Min julklapp väcker minsann och dar en hel del intressanta tankar och funderingar.

Kommentera här: